Leadership & Accountability   

The Nanaimo Airport Commission was established to ensure excellent leadership and accountability at all levels in the smooth running of Nanaimo Airport.

Mission: To provide safe, financially sustainable, friendly, high quality airport services and facilities that enhance economic prosperity and meet the needs of the communities we serve.

Vision: Your Island Gateway to the World.

Our 2019-2023 strategic plan: Click Here.

Board of Directors

The Nanaimo Airport Commission (NAC) was incorporated in August of 1990 as a not-for profit authority under the Canada Corporations Act – Part II. In April of 1992 the Commission assumed management and operation of the Nanaimo Airport under a 30 year lease from the Federal Ministry of Transport. In December of 1996 the Commission was granted fee simple title to the Nanaimo Airport lands through the National Airports Policy transfer initiative.

The Airport Commission is governed by a Board of Directors who are responsible for its corporate mandate, overall function of the Airport, and the strategic direction for airport developments.

The current Board is comprised of nine Directors. Five members of these nine are nominated by entities and appointed by the Board: City of Nanaimo, Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce, The Town of Ladysmith, CVRD and RDN. The remaining four Directors have been appointed by the Board to represent the Communities at Large.

David Witty, Chair

David joined the Nanaimo Airport Commission Board of Directors in April 2015. He was nominated to the Board by the Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce. David, the former Provost at Vancouver Island University, has a strong background in urban planning and design. He’s been part of planning work for four BC airports, including Vancouver’s and brings to the NAC extensive planning knowledge.

Colleen Johel, Vice-Chair

Colleen is a lifelong resident of the Cowichan Valley and the nominee of the Cowichan Valley Regional District who joined the Board in 2017. Colleen is the Managing Partner of the law firm Ridgway & Company in Duncan, B.C. where she practices corporate and commercial law along with real estate development and wills and estates. She is a member of the Law Society of British Columbia, the BC Branch of the Canadian Bar Association and has served as the Cowichan Valley Bar Association President and as the President of the Nanaimo County Bar Association. Colleen has also served on the Board of Directors of the Island Savings Credit Union for 13 years in many positions, including as Chair and Vice-Chair. Her past experience and knowledge will be an asset in serving on the Nanaimo Airport Board of Directors.

Alex Stuart, Secretary

Alex joined the Nanaimo Airport Commission Board of Directors in April 2015. He was nominated to the Board by the Town of Ladysmith. Alex brings a wealth of talents, including a background in technology, environmental management and local government. His experiences are valuable assets to the NAC.

Mike Brown, Director

Mike is a new member of the Nanaimo Airport Commission Board of Directors.  He serves as a member at large on the Board. Mike has practiced law in Alberta and BC for many years and has extensive experience in business and commercial matters.  Mike grew up in an aviation background and has had a strong interest in aviation throughout his life.

Spencer Mikituk , Director

Spencer Mikituk joined the Nanaimo Airport Commission Board of Directors in April 2019.  He brings with him varied management experience in the Canadian aerospace industry including aircraft maintenance, technical training, quality assurance, and safety management.  He has held many positions such as Manager, Technical Training Operations for Canadian Airlines/Air Canada.  Representing industry, he was the past Chair of the BCIT Aerospace Training Advisory Committee. In addition, he was the Associate Dean, Aerospace Programs as well as Manager, Quality Assurance and Industry Services at BCIT.  Most recently, he has become a member of the BC Passenger Transportation Board.

Board of Directors at a Glance

RepresentativeTitleNominating EntityTermExpiry
David WittyChair Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce3 yrs2021
Colleen JohelVice-ChairCowichan Valley Regional District3 yrs2023
Alex StuartBoard SecretaryTown of Ladysmith3 yrs2021
Mike BrownDirectorCommunity at large3 yrs2022
John ElliottDirectorCommunity at large1 yrs2021
(Vacant/In Progress)DirectorCity of Nanaimo1 yrs2021
Spencer MikitukDirectorRegional District of Nanaimo3 yrs2022
Garth BuschDirector