Home » Community » New Chair Named at Nanaimo Airport Commission

New Chair Named at Nanaimo Airport Commission

May 1st, 2014 by laurie

John Craig took over the Chair position at the Nanaimo Airport Commission (NAC) at the Commission’s Annual General Meeting on April 8. Craig is succeeding Chair, Russ Burke who has been in the role since 2012.

Craig has been a member of the Nanaimo Airport Commission Board of Directors since 2010 and was nominated to the Board by the Cowichan Valley Regional District. His career spanned more than 25 years with major development companies and as president of his own company. John’s experience in commercial development and his background as Vice Chairman of the Edmonton Regional Airport Authority are valuable assets to the NAC.

“It’s a great time to be stepping into this role”, shares Craig. “With passenger numbers growing and the attraction of additional air carriers in the works, we are in a unique position to increase our revenue stream from responsible land development. I’m privileged to have the opportunity to Chair the board for the next chapter at the Nanaimo Airport.”

In addition to the new Chair, Lucie Gosselin has been appointed as Vice Chair and Director Ray Gauthier was also reappointed for another three-year term.

The Commission is comprised of up to nine Directors and a past Chair, all appointed by the Commission. Of the nine directors, four are selected by the Commission to represent the community at large and the remaining five appointments represent these entities as indicated by the NAC bylaws:

The City of Nanaimo

The Regional District of Nanaimo

The Cowichan Valley Regional District

The Town of Ladysmith

The Greater Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce

Category(s): Community

Feed: RSS 2.0 feed

Comments are closed.

Leave a Response

* Required